Review of “The Maze Runner”


Hi! How is your Wednesday so far? I recently got done with one of the best books I have ever read, The Maze Runner by James Dashner! If you follow me on Goodreads, you could tell that I was in love with this book. I only had it for a week and a day and I got done with it last night. Anyway, I am going to start doing my reviews a little bit differently. Hope you enjoy!

Title: The Maze Runner

Author: James Dashner

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publishing Date: October 6th, 2009

Length: 374 pages

Source: Library

About: When Thomas wakes up in the Lift surrounded by a ton of boys, he doesn’t know what to expect. He only knows his name. He knows that he is destined to be a runner. When a girl comes to the Glade, the boys are shocked because they never had a girl in the Glade before. She comes with a message that “everything is going to change” and it really does. Horrible things start happening and Thomas knows that they have to find a way out of the Maze.

Movie Trailer:

This book was amazing. I think it has been the only book I have read by a male author. No wait, I have read The Fault In Our Stars by John Green when I was around 11 years old and that is a BIG mistake I have made.

Anyway, The Maze Runner is really good. I finished the book up in a total of eight days. That is how good is was. Let’s talk about my favorite characters in the book.

Thomas is the “greenie” in the Glade when he arrives. (Greenie means “new kid.” They have a slang in the Glade.) He doesn’t know anything expect for his name. By the way, he is a cutie and a hero/rule-breaker in the Glade. (You will find out in the book why because I really do not want to spoil it for you.) I mean, look at him! He basically squeezes himself in the Maze walls?! That has got to hurt.

MR_Entering_Maze

Thomas Brodie-Sangster plays as Newt in the movie, but did you know that he plays in Nanny McPhee AND Phineas and Ferb?! I was quite shocked when I saw how adorable he looked in Nanny McPhee and he is cartoonafied as Ferb. I still can’t believe it. I think that is why Phineas and Ferb is one of my favorite shows. Well, I like the show for many other reasons too, but that is one of the reasons!

Last, but not least, Chuck was also one of my favorite characters. He was just so adorable and even though he talked a lot, I still loved him. He was like a little brother to Thomas.

My favorite part had to be when Thomas was training with Minho in the Maze. He was destined to be a runner! He knew that he had to go into the Maze. He just had that feeling inside of him and if he didn’t get it out, it was going to blow up inside of him.

One part I didn’t really like was the Glader’s slang in the book, but on most reviews, everybody says that. I was kind of worried about it at first because the slang words that they had sounded like bad words, but I just know to never repeat those words.

To sum it all up, I loved this book, so I rate it 5 stars. It was amazing, I tell you! There are so many words to describe it, but the word I choose is amazing.

Don’t forget to vote for The Maze Runner series for the KCA’s here and follow me on Goodreads here for more bookish things! Until my next post, stay awesome.

Leave a Reply

